Writing 101 – Day ten – Has to be the Liver

Tell us something about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

What was my favorite childhood meal? Liver and onions. When Mom cooked it, she cooked it well. The onions perfect and the gravy just the right consistency and color. For me it was a treat, because Mom had me on an almost constant diet. I didn’t need the gravy, but she knew I loved it. For me, that was a celebration. After I left home, I never forgot the liver. I learned to make it, though not as perfect as Mom’s but close. Too bad I married a guy who hates liver. That just means more for me! I suppose it’s part of why I’m overweight.

 

Leave a Reply

