Blogging 101: What happened to me.

I mentioned once or twice of having a stroke. I’m trying real hard to recoup from that.

A stroke you ask what is it? According to Ask.com, “A stroke, sometimes referred to as a cerebrovascular accident (CVA), cerebrovascular insult (CVI), or colloquially brain attack is the loss of brain function due to a disturbance in the blood supply to the brain. As a result, the affected area of the brain cannot function normally, which might result in an inability to move one or more limbs on one side of the body, failure to understand or formulate speech, or a vision impairment of one side of the visual field.” For me it was the inability to move. I remember that I had just competed a toilet run and froze up at the sink. I was barely able to call on my  husband, who just happened to be home that day (I thank the Father God in heaven). He had me sit down and called 911. Even today I still have spasms in my left foot and can’t raise my left arm any higher than my forehead. And what am I doing for therapy?

Ask.com tells us ” Treatment to recover any lost function is termed stroke rehabilitation, ideally in a stroke unit and involving health professions such as speech and language therapy, physical therapy and occupational therapy.” Well, I haven’t had need of speech therapy yet, but I have gone through some physical therapy and occupational therapy. At this time I’m unable to afford any of that at a rehab clinic anymore, so I work on the exercises they had me do while there at home. Walking, stretching, working my hands and so forth is what I am doing daily. I’ve also begun playing word and number games daily to exercise my brain. I have caught myself misspelling words in playing a game called “Doublecross” (It’s like Scrabble) like fued, I mean feud, that’s just one simple word I should have known. It’s slow going, been almost two years, but most of it I have to do alone since my husband can’t take off work to help. I often stop daily to listen to this song to pick myself up and keep going:

3 thoughts on “Blogging 101: What happened to me.

Leave a Reply

